M.J. Arlidge

Hide and Seek

""...more twists than a cork screw. " "


Detective Inspector Helen Grace has spent her whole life running: from the past and from herself. Also from everyone who has ever tried to get close to her. She's spent her whole life hiding: behind the badge and behind her reputation as one of the country's best detectives. That is until - framed for murder - she becomes one of its most high-profile prisoners.

Now there is nowhere to run and nowhere to hide, because HMP Holloway is a place of dark days and long nights with dangers at every turn. Despised by the inmates and reviled by the guards, Helen must face her nightmare alone.

When a carefully mutilated body is found in a locked cell, Helen must find a ruthless serial killer… before the killer finds her.

Purchase the book from Amazon.


I am a huge fan of Arlidge's DI Helen Grace series. He has created a wonderful protagonist who the reader can't help loving, despite her self-induced troubles. I often shout at the pages when I know she is making the wrong decision and hope she will come to her senses. This is testament to Arlidge's writing. He has lovingly given us a character we can care about, we worry about and who we want to see succeed. To me, Helen Grace is very much alive and I can physically picture her more than any other fictional character. 'Hide and Seek' is the sixth novel in the series, and, in my opinion, is the best so far. The pace is electric, the action non-stop and the plot has more twists than a cork screw. The scene is set straight away as Helen Grace finds herself locked up in Holloway for three murders she did not commit. Arlidge paints a disturbing picture of prison life. It is a dark and dangerous place and Arlidge uses the buildings reputation and past to throw everything at Grace and put her in mortal danger. By the end of 'Hide and Seek', life, for Helen and her colleagues, has changed considerably and things will never be the same again. It will be interesting to see the direction the series will now go in. We won't have long to wait as book seven, 'Follow The Leader', is published early 2017.

Reviewed By: