Ian Rankin

Ian Rankin is a renowned Scottish author, born on April 28, 1960, in Cardenden, Fife, Scotland. He is best known for his captivating crime novels, particularly the highly acclaimed Inspector Rebus series. Rankin's gripping narratives and complex character development have earned him widespread recognition and a dedicated global readership. Raised in a small mining community, Rankin attended Beath High School before pursuing his higher education at the University of Edinburgh, where he graduated with a degree in English literature. It was during his college years that his passion for writing took root, and he began crafting short stories and poetry. His breakthrough as a novelist came in 1987 with the publication of "The Flood," the first installment of the Inspector Rebus series. The character of John Rebus, a tough and morally complex detective, would go on to feature in more than twenty novels, making him an iconic figure in the crime fiction genre. Rankin's writing style is known for its gritty realism, social commentary, and exploration of contemporary issues. His works often delve into the darker aspects of Scottish society, touching on topics like crime, politics, and urban decay. These themes have resonated with readers, propelling his books to the top of bestseller lists and earning numerous literary awards.

Other Books By This Author

  • Saints Of The Shadow Bible

  • Standing In Another Man’s Grave

  • The Impossible Dead

  • The Complaints

  • Doors Open

  • Exit Music

  • The Naming of the Dead

  • Even Dogs in the Wild

  • Rather Be The Devil

  • A Song for the Dark Times


Coming Soon

Coming Soon

Coming Soon

Coming Soon

Coming Soon