In Association with

Harrogate Crime Writers Festival

“So brilliant its criminal!”

Harrogate 2005 was my first experience of this fantastic event. Now in its third year, Harrogate has established a unique reputation as a high quality showcase for crime writers and aficionados. Under the dedicated Chairmanship of Val McDermid a world class line-up of authors and experts filled the four day program of events. Sessions ranged from highly specialised to downright silly and very entertaining! Best of all, crime fans had ample opportunity to sidle up to their writing heroes and heroines to chat with them in the bar about their favourite books and grill them on their next works.

During my stay I enjoyed meeting and chatting with Val McDermid, Stella Duffy, Mark Billingham, Frances Fyfield, John Sandford, Simon Brett, Reginald Hill, Ruth Rendell, Michael Connelly and Alexander McCall Smith! Highlights of the weekend included the presentation of the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award, which was presented to Mark Billingham for his book, Lazy Bones.

Next year Mark takes over as the chair of the organising committee and the event already has a stunning line-up of names attached including George Pelecanos, Ian Rankin, John Harvey, Mo Hayder, John Connolly, Denise Mina, Robert Wilson and Christopher Brookmyre.

Next year’s event takes place from 20-23rd July.

Details on I advise you to book early!

John Sandford

Ruth Rendell

Michael Connelly

Stella Duffy & Val McDermid

Mark Billingham

Frances Fyfield & Simon Brett